My To-Be Read List: January 2015

My To-Be Read List

My To-Be Read List is a meme hosted by Because Reading is Better Than Real Life. On the first Saturday of every month, I’ll be posting a poll with three books from my TBR. You get to vote on one for me to read and on the last Saturday of the month, I’ll post my review.

I had my January post all set up and ready to go until I realized all of my choices were middle grade. Actually, I remember deliberately picking all middle grade books, but what I didn’t take into account is that I have three middle grade ARCs to review for January. So at the last minute I decided to select three new books for January’s My TBR. Here are my choices:

Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners–and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality.

But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine’s, young ladies learn to finish…everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but the also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage–in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year’s education.

Cold Calls by Charles Benoit
Cold Calls by Charles Benoit

Three high school students-Eric, Shelly, and Fatima-have one thing in common: “I know your secret.”

Each one is blackmailed into bullying specifically targeted schoolmates by a mysterious caller who whispers from their cell phones and holds carefully guarded secrets over their heads. But how could anyone have obtained that photo, read those hidden pages, uncovered this buried past? Thrown together, the three teens join forces to find the stranger who threatens them-before time runs out and their shattering secrets are revealed…

Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell
Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

Jenna

Comments

  1. I haven’t read any of these, but Goodbye, Rebel Blue sounds really GOOD 🙂
    Cayce recently posted…[2015 LGBT Challenge] Link-up I.My Profile

  2. These all sound like they’d be good reads, but I voted for Etiquette & Espionage because it sounds like the most fun of the three 🙂
    Wattle recently posted…Of new beginnings (sort of)My Profile

  3. Stephanie says:

    I picked Cold Calls since it’s been on my to-read list for awhile!

  4. I voted for Etiguette and Espionage as that’s the only book from this 3 I heard about. I hope you enjoy whichever book wins!
    Lola recently posted…My To-Be Read List #5: pollMy Profile

    • Yeah, all three titles are a little more obscure. I usually try to pick ones that aren’t super popular but I also try to pick ones that have been out for awhile so maybe they were really popular when they first came out and I just don’t know it.
      Jenna recently posted…Weekly Rewind: December 21 – January 3My Profile

  5. I voted for Etiquette and Espionage because it’s one of my favorite authors and I liked it. 🙂

  6. I went with Cold Calls. I knew someone that read it and loved it. I keep meaning to try it.
    Karsyn @ KaKiJoKoJa recently posted…To Be Read List ~ January PollMy Profile

  7. I choose Goodbye, Rebel Blue as it sounds great with bucket lists and unforgettable characters. Plus I love books about friendships and it looks like this is a strong theme in this one.
    Trish @ Between My Lines recently posted…On the Tenth Day of Christmas, Trish recommended to me…My Profile

  8. Totally going for Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger I want to read it but I am not sure. So if it’s picked I would like to see what you think 🙂
    Michelle@Because Reading recently posted…2014/2015 #Coyer Winter Update ~ WeekMy Profile

  9. I wanted to vote for Etiquette & Espionage because it’s on my list as well and I wanted to show it some love, but I ended up voting for Goodbye, Rebel Blue. It seems like a great book!
    Hannah recently posted…My TBR List: January 2015 – Voting!My Profile

  10. I honestly have not hear of any of these, but I voted for Goobye, Rebel Blue because it look interesting. I would love for you to come vote on my TBR list if you have time. I look forward to seeing the winner.
    Rachael @ Rachael Turns Pages recently posted…My To-Be Read List- January 2015My Profile

  11. I picked Goodbye Rebel Blue – I read E&E recently and it was only ok IMO, so I figured vote for something that sounds unique and has the potential to be great. Can’t wait to see what wins!
    Berls @ Fantasy is More Fun recently posted…My TBR List | January 2015 VotingMy Profile

  12. I am very curious about Goodbye Rebel Blue.
    JennRenee recently posted…Stacking the Shelves #87My Profile

  13. These all sound good, Jenna. I ended up voting for Goodbye, Rebel Blue but I almost went with Etiquette & Espionage. I hope you enjoy the book chosen! 🙂
    Bookworm Brandee recently posted…**Bought, Borrowed, & Bagged ~ #48**My Profile