Archives for August 2014

Weekly Rewind: August 24-30

The Weekly Rewind is my version of The Sunday Post hosted by Kimba at Caffeinated Book Reviewer. life I’ve been very busy lately and will continue to be busy into next month. My husband and I have had the same tenants in our rental house ever since we bought it almost four years ago, but they’re moving out. We’re going to be repainting the walls and replacing some of the flooring to get ready for new tenants. The old flooring {Read More}

Picks of the Month: August 2014

Picks of the Month is my monthly feature. Modeled after what I’m loving lately at Annie’s Eats (one of my favorite food blogs), I’ll be sharing the products, websites, pop culture, apps, etc that made my life easier and/or more fun the previous month. And, yes, as this is a book blog, I will probably find a way to sneak some mention of my favorite reads from the month too! Picks of the Month is a day early this month, {Read More}

Review + Giveaway: This is Falling by Ginger Scott

First, I had to remember how to breathe. Then, I had to learn how to survive. Two years, three months and sixteen days had passed since I was the Rowe Stanton from before, since tragedy stole my youth and my heart went along with it. When I left for college, I put a thousand miles between my future and my past. I’d made a choice—I was going to cross back to the other side, to live with the living. I {Read More}

Throwback Thursday: Retro Reads – The Girls of Canby Hall #15: To Tell the Truth

We’ve all heard of Throwback Thursday, the day you post photos from the past to Facebook or Instagram. Retro Reads is my bookish version of Throwback Thursday. I’ll be rereading and posting a recap/review of books I loved when I was younger, mostly series books. Fair warning: These are more recaps than reviews. They will be thorough and there will be spoilers. The Girls of Canby Hall #15: To Tell the Truth Author: Eileen Hehl writing as Emily Chase Published: {Read More}

Review: yolo by Lauren Myracle

Through texts and messages, the mega-bestselling, beloved Internet Girls series followed the ups and downs of school for three very different, very close friends. Now it’s freshman year of college for the winsome threesome, and *everything* is different. For one, the best friends are facing their first semester apart. Way, way apart. Maddie’s in California, Zoe’s in Ohio, and Angela’s back in Georgia. And it’s not just the girls who are separated. Zoe’s worried that Doug wants to break up {Read More}

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet What? There are books that I want to read but don’t own yet? Believe it or not, there are. I’m limiting this to books that have already been released.    Why I Don’t Own It 01. Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz – I love horror movies and I’m starting to {Read More}

Review: Can’t Look Away by Donna Cooner

Torrey Grey is famous. At least, on the internet. Thousands of people watch her popular videos on fashion and beauty. But when Torrey’s sister is killed in an accident — maybe because of Torrey and her videos — Torrey’s perfect world implodes. Now, strangers online are bashing Torrey. And at her new school, she doesn’t know who to trust. Is queen bee Blair only being sweet because of Torrey’s internet infamy? What about Raylene, who is decidedly unpopular, but seems {Read More}

Weekly Rewind: August 17-23

The Weekly Rewind is my version of The Sunday Post hosted by Kimba at Caffeinated Book Reviewer. life My blog was slow this week because I wasn’t feeling well. I came home early on Tuesday, felt better by dinnertime, but started feeling sick again later. I stayed home again on Wednesday and Thursday was my day off. Back to work on Friday! Just last week I was talking about summer being over and this week it got HOT. We’ve also {Read More}

Review: The Secret Identity of Devon Delaney by Lauren Barnholdt

Mom says karma always comes around to get you, and I guess it’s true. Because last summer I was a total liar, and now, right in the middle of Mr. Pritchard’s third-period math class, my whole world is about to come crashing down. That’s because while Devon was living with her grandmother for the summer, she told her “summer friend,” Lexi, that she was really popular back home and dating Jared Bentley, only the most popular guy at school. Harmless {Read More}

Review: Amity by Micol Ostow

For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror. Connor’s family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen’s family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she’s recovered from a psychotic break. But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor’s nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses {Read More}